a writing center consultant helping a student with their paper

Meet the Staff

Marc Falk

Marc Falk

Associate Dean for Student Academics & Professor of Music

Email: mfalk@coe.edu

Coordinates Learning Commons staff, resources and activities. Helps faculty provide academic support for students, including developing new initiatives and resources. Offers students guidance with academic planning including majors, practicum and the college's other requirements and opportunities.


John Chaimov

John Chaimov

Director of Off-Campus Study, Associate Director of International Student Affairs & Associate Professor of German

 Email: jchaimov@coe.edu 

Works with students as early as the first year to start laying the groundwork for off-campus study around the world, typically as juniors or seniors.


Nikki Stallman

Nikki Stallman

TRIO/AAP Program Coordinator

Email: nstallman@coe.edu

Assists the director of Coe's TRIO/AAP program. Coordinates the Testing Center. Proctors and schedules tests.


Peggy Knott

Peggy Knott

Academic Technology Support Specialist & Fisher Music Library Assistant

Email: pknott@coe.edu

Provides technology support for faculty, staff and students. Researches academic technology options and solutions.


Michelle McIllece

Michelle McIllece

TRIO/Academic Achievement Program Academic Coach, Tutoring Coordinator & Learning Commons Consultant

Email: mmcillec@coe.edu 

Works primarily with AAP-eligible students on academic planning, personality and interest assessments (Strong and others), study skills and time management, and career and personal development. Offers customized class presentations for faculty to support their course learning goals.


Jane Nesmith

Jane Nesmith

Director of the Writing Center & Assistant Professor of Rhetoric

Email: jnesmith@coe.edu

Offers conversations about writing at any stage of the writing process provides experienced students as Writing Fellows to classes across campus. Offers customized presentations on writing-centered topics. Sponsors and edits two literary journals (The Pearl and Colere).


Laura Hayes

Laura Hayes

Accessibility Coordinator & Academic Coach

Email: lhayes@coe.edu

Works with students with accommodations. Collaborates with faculty on developing academic accommodations. Provides academic coaching, mentoring


Steve Bean

Math Specialist

Email: sbean@coe.edu

Provides tutoring and support to students for any math-based classes. 

Schedule an appointment with Steve here.


Tom Hicks

Tom Hicks

Director of TRIO/Academic Achievement Program

Email: thicks@coe.edu

Coordinates TRIO/AAP staff, resources and activities. Provides support for students through academic coaching and support.

 


Amber Shaw

Amber Shaw

Fulbright/National Fellowship Advisor & Assistant Professor of English

Email: ashaw@coe.edu

Assists students through all stages of the post-graduate fellowship process, from researching opportunities to reading drafts, including all steps between first intent and becoming a finalist.


Susan Wolverton

Susan Wolverton

Learning Commons Program Director & Professor of Theatre Arts

Email: swolvert@coe.edu

Coordinates Learning Commons programs, micro-grants, and Student Research Symposium.


Shanna Pikora

Shanna Pikora

Biology Support Specialist & Academic Coach

Email: spikora@coe.edu

Facilitates and organizes all biology supplemental instruction (SI) sessions, teaches College Foundations and serves as an academic coach.