Faculty


Michelle Perrin Blair

Michelle Perrin Blair

Assistant Professor of Music

B.M., Southwestern University
M.M., 
University of Texas at Arlington
D.M.A., University of Houston

Phone: 319.399.8638 
Email: mblair@coe.edu

Director of Orchestras; Conducting, Music History.


Jesse Bunge

Jesse Bunge

Visiting Assistant Professor of Music

B.A., Luther College
M.M.Ed., University of Kansas

Phone: 319.899.8604 
Email: jbunge@coe.edu

Director of Choirs; Conducting, Choral Music Methods


Bill Carson

William S. Carson

Alma A. Turechek Professor of Music

B.A., Macalester College
M.M., Southern Illinois University
D.M.A., Arizona State University

Phone: 319.399.8520
Email: wcarson@coe.edu

Director of Bands; Clarinet, Conducting, Music History


Mark Falk

Marc Falk

Professor of Music

B.A., Macalester College
M.M., University of Minnesota
D.M.A., University of Iowa

Phone: 319.399.8629
Email: mfalk@coe.edu

Learning Commons; Music History


Steve Shanley


Steve Shanley

Pearl M. Taylor Assistant Professor of Music

B.M.E., University of Northern Iowa
M.Ed., University of Minnesota
M.A., University of Iowa
Ph.D., University of Iowa

Phone: 319.399.8639
Email: sshanley@coe.edu

Director of Jazz Band; Music Education


Brett Wolgast

Brett Wolgast

Velma J. MacMillan Assistant Professor of Music and College Organist, Chair

B.M., Kansas State University
M.A., University of Iowa

M.F.A., University of Iowa
D.M.A., University of Iowa

Phone: 319.399.8640
Email: bwolgast@coe.edu

Director of Handbell Ensemble; Organ, Piano, Music Theory, Music History


Artist-Instructors - String

 

Gretchen Brumwell Headshot

Gretchen Brumwell, M.M.

Harp Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Madeline Capistran Headshot

Madeline Capistran, M.M.

Violin Instructor

Email
Visit bio

John Hall Heashot

John Hall, M.M.

Bass Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Michael Kimber Headshot

Michael Kimber, D.M.A.

Viola Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Tom Nothnagle 300

Tom Nothnagle, M.M.

Guitar Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Amy Phelps Headshot

Amy Phelps, D.M.A.

Cello Instructor
String Seminar; Chamber Music

Email
Visit bio


Artist-Instructors - Winds, Brass, and Percussion

Rose Bishop 300

Rose Bishop, M.M.

Flute Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Lesley Fleer Headshot 300

Lesley Fleer, M.M.

Oboe Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Greg Morton Headshot 300

Greg Morton, D.M.A.

Saxophone/Bassoon Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Andy Harris Headshot 300

Andy Harris, M.M.

Horn Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Joel Nagel Headshot 300

Joel Nagel, M.M.

Trombone/Tuba Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Dan Terrell Headshot 300

Dan Terrell, M.M.Ed.

Trumpet Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Alan Lawrence Headshot.jpeg

Alan Lawrence, M.M.

Percussion Instructor

Email
Visit bio


Artist-Instructors - Vocal

Allison Holmes-Bendixen Headshot 300

Allison Holmes-Bendixen, Ph.D.

Voice Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Margie Marrs Headshot 300

Margie Marrs, M.A., M.AmSAT

Alexander Technique Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Lynne Rothrock Headshot 300

Lynne Rothrock, M.M.

Voice Instructor

Email
Visit bio


Artist-Instructors - Keyboard

Abbie Brewer Headshot 300

Abbie Brewer, D.M.A.

Piano Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Julia Titus Headshot 300

Julia Titus, M.A.

Piano Instructor

Email
Visit bio

Marita Wolgast Headshot 300

Marita Wolgast, M.M.

Piano Instructor

Email
Visit bio


Artist-Instructors - Music Education

Bob Benson 300

Bob Benson, B.A.,

A.A.S.

Record Label; Music Production

Email
Visit bio

Amy Hanisch 300

Amy Hanisch

Elementary & General Music Methods

Email
Visit bio

Josh Reznicow Headshot 300

Joshua Reznicow,

M.A.T.

Composition

Email
Visit bio

Kristi Schamberger Headshot 300

Kristi Schamberger, M.M.Ed.

String Methods

Email
Visit bio

Thad Sentman Headshot 300

Thad Sentman, M.M.

String Methods

Email
Visit bio

Photo Not Available 300

Kristana Weiler, D.M.A.

Experiencing Music

Email


Artist-Instructors

Robert J. Anderson, B.M.E.
Music Education

Bob Benson, B.A.; A.A.S.
Technical Director
rbenson@coe.edu

Joshua Reznicow, M.A.T.
Music Education
jreznicow@linnmar.k12.ia.us

Kristana Weiler, D.M.A.
Experiencing Music
kweiler@coe.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Dean Meredith Karns, M.A.
Professor of Mathematics and Music, Emeritus
deankarns@gmail.com

Allan D. Kellar, Ph.D.
Pearl M. Taylor Professor of Music, Emeritus
aandlkellar@comcast.net

Margie Vathauer Marrs, M.M.
Pearl M. Taylor Professor of Music, Emerita
mmarrs@coe.edu

Jerry Michael Owen, Ph.D.
Alma A. Turechek Professor of Music, Emeritus
jowen@coe.edu

Sharon Kay Stang
Velma J. MacMillan Professor of Piano, Emerita
sstang@coe.edu

Music Department Staff

Rich Adkins
Keyboard Technician
radkins@coe.edu

Carter Broszeit
Technical Director
cnbroszeit@coe.edu

Karen Wilson
Administrative Assistant
kwilson@coe.edu