Faculty


Michelle Perrin Blair

Michelle Perrin Blair

Assistant Professor of Music

B.M., Southwestern University
M.M., 
University of Texas at Arlington
D.M.A., University of Houston

Phone: 319.399.8638 
Email: mblair@coe.edu

Director of Orchestras; Musical Theatre, Conducting, Music History, Music Theory

To learn more about Dr. Blair, visit her website.


Bill Carson

William S. Carson

Alma A. Turechek Professor of Music

B.A., Macalester College
M.M., Southern Illinois University
D.M.A., Arizona State University

Phone: 319.399.8520
Email: wcarson@coe.edu

Director of Bands; Clarinet, Conducting, Music History


Mark Falk

Marc Falk

Associate Professor of Music

B.A., Macalester College
M.M., University of Minnesota
D.M.A., University of Iowa

Phone: 319.399.8629
Email: mfalk@coe.edu

Director of Concert Choir; Learning Commons; Music History


Steve Shanley


Steve Shanley

Assistant Professor of Music

B.M.E., University of Northern Iowa
M.Ed., University of Minnesota
M.A., University of Iowa

Phone: 319.399.8639
Email: sshanley@coe.edu

Director of Jazz Band; Music Education


Loralee Songer.jpg


Loralee Songer

Assistant Professor of Music

B.M., Taylor University
M.M., Ball State University
D.M.A., Ball State University

Phone: 319.899.8604
Email: lsonger@coe.edu

Director of Chorale; Applied Voice, Vocal Pedagogy, Vocal Literature


Brett Wolgast

Brett Wolgast

Velma J. MacMillan Assistant Professor of Music and College Organist, Chair

B.M., Kansas State University
M.A., University of Iowa

M.F.A. ,University of Iowa
D.M.A., University of Iowa

Phone: 319.399.8640
Email: bwolgast@coe.edu

Director of Handbell Ensemble; Organ, Piano, Music Theory, Music History


Artist-Instructors

Robert J. Anderson, B.M.E.
Music Education

Bob Benson, B.A.; A.A.S.
Technical Director
rbenson@coe.edu

Abbie Brewer, D.M.A.
Piano
abrewer@coe.edu 

Gretchen Brumwell, M.M.
Harp
gretchenbrumwell@gmail.com

Madeline Capistran, M.M.
Violin
mcapistran@coe.edu

Shivhan Dohse, M.M
Flute
sdohse@coe.edu

Sarah Fairfield, Ph.D.
Music Education
sfairfield@coe.edu

Lesley Fleer, M.M.
Oboe
lfleer@coe.edu 

John Hall, M.M.
String Bass
johall@coe.edu

Charles Andrew Harris, M.M.
French Horn
charris@coe.edu

Jerry Henry, M.E, M.B.A.
String Techniques

Allison Holmes-Bendixen, Ph.D.
Voice
aholmes@coe.edu

Michael Kimber, D.M.A. 
Viola
mkimber@centurylink.net

Alan Lawrence, M.M.
Percussion
alawrenc@coe.edu

Margie Vathauer Marrs, M.A.
Alexander Technique
mmarrs@coe.edu

Greg Morton, D.M.A.
Saxophone/Bassoon
rmorton@coe.edu

Joel Nagel, M.M.
Trombone
jnagel@coe.edu

Al Naylor, M.M.
Trumpet
anaylor@coe.edu

Tom Nothnagle, M.M.
Guitar
tnothnagle@coe.edu

Amy Phelps, D.M.A.
Cello & String Ensemble
aphelps@coe.edu

Joshua Reznicow, M.A.T.
Music Education
jreznicow@linnmar.k12.ia.us

Lynne Rothrock, M.M.
Voice
lrothrock@coe.edu

Julia Titus, M.A.
Piano
jtitus@coe.edu

Kristana Weiler, D.M.A.
Experiencing Music
kweiler@coe.edu

Marita Wolgast, M.M.
Piano
mwolgast@coe.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Dean Meredith Karns, M.A.
Professor of Mathematics and Music, Emeritus
deankarns@gmail.com

Allan D. Kellar, Ph.D.
Pearl M. Taylor Professor of Music, Emeritus
aandlkellar@comcast.net

Margie Vathauer Marrs, M.M.
Pearl M. Taylor Professor of Music, Emerita
mmarrs@coe.edu

Jerry Michael Owen, Ph.D.
Alma A. Turechek Professor of Music, Emeritus
jowen@coe.edu

Sharon Kay Stang
Velma J. MacMillan Professor of Piano, Emerita
sstang@coe.edu

Music Department Staff

Rich Adkins
Music Librarian
radkins@coe.edu

Karen Wilson
Administrative Assistant
kwilson@coe.edu