Smiling female student

National Scholarships & Fellowships

National Fellowships and Scholarships

Coe students are among the nation’s best, and their success in competing for national fellowships and scholarships proves it. Coe was among the top 12 bachelor’s institutions in the nation during 2018-19 in producing student Fulbright scholars, and among the top ten in the nation in the percentage of those applying who won. This is the fifth time in seven years that Coe has received this distinction. In the 2018-19 academic year, Coe students also won Truman scholarship and Goldwater scholarships.

Competing for and receiving scholarships such as these can open a number of doors for students. Not only do they provide financial support for further undergraduate and graduate studies, but they also afford networking opportunities with others who have won the award. Below is an overview of several national fellowships Coe students have applied for over the past several years.


The Udall Foundation awards scholarships to college sophomores and juniors for leadership, public service, and commitment to issues related to Native American nations or to the environment.

Students apply during the spring of their sophomore or junior year at Coe. The campus deadline for the 2019-20 academic year is December 6, 2019. 


The Goldwater Scholarship Program seeks to identify and support college sophomores and juniors who show exceptional promise of becoming this nation’s next generation of research leaders in science, technology, engineering and mathematics.

The characteristics the Foundation seeks in a Goldwater Scholar include:

  • Strong commitment to a research career in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering
  • Effective display of intellectual intensity in the sciences, mathematics and engineering
  • Potential for a significant future contribution to research in his/her chosen field

Students apply during the winter of their sophomore or junior year at Coe. The intent to apply deadline is November 1, 2019. Campus nominations must be submitted by November 22, 2019.


The Truman Scholarship is the premier graduate fellowship in the United States for those pursuing careers as public service leaders. The Foundation identifies young people at an important inflection point in their development—when they are college juniors—and recognizes and rewards their commitments to devote themselves to public service. The deadline for Coe’s campus nominating committee is November 22, 2019.

Click here to learn more about Coe College's 2019 Truman Scholar Larrisa Alire. 


The Fulbright U.S. Student Program provides grants for individually designed study/research projects or for English Teaching Assistant Programs. The program facilitates cultural exchange through direct interaction on an individual basis in the classroom, field, home and in routine tasks, allowing the grantee to gain an appreciation of others’ viewpoints and beliefs, the way they do things and the way they think.

Students apply for Fulbright awards during the fall of their senior year at Coe or as recent alumni. The Fulbright deadline is September 9, 2019.

Rhodes and Marshall

The Rhodes Scholarships are the oldest and most celebrated international fellowship awards in the world. Each year 32 students from the United States are selected as Rhodes Scholars, through a decentralized process representing the 50 states, the District of Columbia and the U.S. territories. Rhodes Scholars are chosen not only for their outstanding scholarly achievements, but for their character, commitment to others and to the common good, and for their potential for leadership in whatever domains their careers may lead.

Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for a graduate degree in the United Kingdom. Up to forty Scholars are selected each year to study at graduate level at an UK institution in any field of study.

Students apply for Rhodes or Marshall awards during the fall of their senior year at Coe or as recent alumni. Campus deadlines for both programs are August 20, 2019.


Each year, the R.J. McElroy Trust selects two fellowship recipients from among graduates of nine colleges in Northeast Iowa. Based upon satisfactory progress toward a Ph.D. degree, the stipend of $10,000 may be renewed for two additional years, for a total of $30,000.

Students apply during the spring of their senior year at Coe. The campus deadline is January 31, 2019.

NSF Fellowships

The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based Master's and doctoral degrees at accredited United States institutions. Students may apply in their senior year of undergraduate work or in early years of graduate study. Deadlines vary depending on field, but are in late October.