Young Alum Award

The Young Alum Award is an honor the college bestows on its alumni who have achieved a high level of success within 15 years of graduating from Coe.

While nominations are accepted year-round, only those submitted by January 31 will be considered for awarding at that year's Homecoming celebration.

Past recipients

2023 | Kari Oldfield-Tabbert '10
2022 | Arial Harland Montag '14
2021 | Justin Nylin '13
2019 | Amy Marquardt '09
2018 | Michelle Davids '03
2017 | Sandeep Giri '04
2016 | Katherine A. Roger '08
2015 | Mason Kuhn '00 and Megan Gilligan '05
2014 | Kyle Fargen '04
2013 | Chad Shearer '99
2012 | Amy Burgin '02
2011 | Jeremy Pilgrim '96
2010 | Matthew Clark '95

Award eligibility

  • Professional achievement exemplifies the superior educational quality and ideals of Coe College. Nominees also illustrate their dedication to Coe and their community through their continued engagement and service.
  • Nominees must have graduated from Coe College a minimum of 15 years ago.
  • Award may be presented posthumously but living award recipients must be present to accept the award.
  • Current members of Coe's Board of Trustees, Board of Visitors/President's Advisory Council, or Alumni Council cannot receive this award while serving their term.

Judging criteria

The Coe Alumni Council evaluates nominees based on the following weighted criteria:

60%–Distinction in their professional field
Recognition including, but not limited to, scholarship, awards, and leadership recognition by one's peers in, trade associations, business, education, sports, and medicine.

20%–Loyalty to Coe
Dedication to the college measured in volunteer service including, but not limited to, admission assistance, student engagement, alumni events, Board of Trustees, Board of Visitors/President's Advisory Council, Alumni Council or Coe Fund.

20%–Community Engagement
Service to the nominee’s community, including, but not limited to, board, committee, task force, and volunteer service.