Three Cedar Rapidians among Coe Hall of Fame inductees

Extra: Lonnie Zingula, Associate Director of Marketing and Public Relations
(319) 399-8613 or

2009-09-18 14:48:08 - General

Four former Kohawk athletes will be inducted into the Coe College Athletic Hall of Fame during Homecoming weekend, Oct. 2-4. The 2009 class of inductees includes Cedar Rapids residents Barrie Ernst '76, Nancy Kahle Netolicky '86 and Jeff Hrubes '88. Ryan Kolpin '91 of Aurelia will also be honored.

Ernst was a two-time first-team All-Midwest Conference pitcher for the Kohawk baseball team. His 18 career wins rank fifth in school history. He helped the Kohawk basketball team to undefeated conference championships his freshman and senior seasons and Coe's first #1 national ranking in 1976.

A Springville native, Ernst served as senior vice president at SCI Financial Group for 23 years. He is now vice president and chief investment officer at United Fire Group and an active participant in many community enterprises, including the United Way, the YMCA and the American Heart Association.

Netolicky, a native of Watkins who prepped at Norway High School, was a four-time All-Midwest Conference player for four conference champion Kohawk softball teams. She remains among Coe's all-time career leaders with a 42-15 pitching record, a 1.14 ERA, 61 RBIs and 67 runs scored.

After graduating from Coe with degrees in business administration and speech, Netolicky earned her degree in chiropractic medicine from Cleveland College in Kansas City. She has operated a successful chiropractic practice in Cedar Rapids since 1996.

Hrubes, who prepped at Cedar Rapids Kennedy High School and has served his alma mater as a varsity assistant coach for 11 years, was a two-time first-team All-Midwest Conference selection and two-time team MVP for the Kohawk basketball team. Transferring to Coe after one year at Division I Western Illinois, he finished his Coe basketball career fifth on the all-time scoring list with 1,141 points in just three years. His 63 percent career field goal accuracy is second in school history.

Continuing to play competitive basketball for several years after college, Hrubes averaged 16.5 points per game while leading Pella Windows to the 1998 Men's AAU National Championship. He currently works in product assurance at Rockwell Collins.

Kolpin was Coe's second 1,000-yard rusher and led the nation in scoring for the 1990 Midwest Conference champion Kohawk football team. A native of Aurelia, he has practiced law in his hometown since 2000 and has served as Cherokee County attorney since his election in 2007.

The four inductees will be honored at the 37th Athletic Hall of Fame Reception and Dinner on Oct. 2. They will also be honored in the Homecoming Parade and before Coe's football game with the University of Dubuque on Oct. 3.