Record number of Coe scholars receive prestigious Fulbright awards

Extra: Rod Pritchard, Secretary of the College
(319) 399-8605 or

2017-04-12 11:46:53 - General

Six graduating Coe seniors and a recent alumna have received prestigious Fulbright U.S. Student Program awards for the 2017-18 academic year. The seven recipients represent a new record number of Coe students and recent alumni who have received Fulbrights in a given year.

Coe has established itself as a leading national producer of Fulbright scholars, with 20 in the past five years, and 28 awardees in the past decade. This builds upon the tradition of Coe students, alumni and faculty who have received Fulbrights since the program was established.

"Once again, the Coe community is pleased by the college's extraordinarily large number of Fulbright recipients," said Coe President David McInally. "The hard work and dedication of our bright scholars to earn these Fulbright grants results in life-changing experiences for each award winner. We are exceedingly proud of these Coe students and alumni, and we congratulate them for their achievements."

Each of the Coe students was awarded a Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship grant to teach during the 2017-18 academic year from the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Scholarship Board. This year's Fulbright recipients from Coe include:

  • Justine Arcand, class of 2017 from Bonne Terre, Missouri. An Asian Studies and film studies major with a minor in creative writing, she will teach in South Korea.
  • Allison Bailey, class of 2017 from Webster City, Iowa. A political science major with minors in French and theatre arts, she will teach in Bulgaria next year.
  • Andrew Koehler, class of 2017 from Bel Aire, Kansas. A chemistry and physics major with a minor in mathematics, he will teach in Sri Lanka next year.
  • Gibson Odderstol, class of 2017 from Park Ridge, Illinois. A political science and religion major, he will teach in Malaysia next year.
  • Leeann Oelrich, class of 2016 from Mount Vernon, Iowa. An English and Spanish major, she will teach in South Korea next year.
  • Thomas Petrino, class of 2017 from Onalaska, Washington. A political science major with a minor in creative writing, he will teach in Bulgaria next year.
  • Hannah Wiles, class of 2017 from Urbandale, Iowa. A major in communication studies with a minor in Asian Studies and creative writing, she will teach in Thailand next year.

All of the Coe awardees received guidance from Professor Amber Shaw, who serves as the college's national fellowship advisor, as well as other faculty members.

Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 370,000 participants - chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential - with the opportunity to exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. More than 1,900 U.S. students, artists and early-career professionals in over 100 fields of study are offered Fulbright Program grants to study, teach English and conduct research annually in over 140 countries around the world.

Located near the heart of Cedar Rapids, Coe is a selective, private, nationally recognized liberal arts college providing superior quality educational experiences for students since 1851. Coe College has a reputation for academic excellence enhanced by a student-centered, highly supportive campus environment. Coe is dedicated to preparing students for fulfilling careers and graduate study.