Iowa Science Olympiad competition March 23 at Coe

Extra: Rod Pritchard, Director of Marketing and Public Relations
(319) 399-8605 or

2013-03-12 10:35:42 - General

More than 300 middle and high school students from 20 schools across the state will compete in the 2013 Iowa Science Olympiad on Saturday, March 23 at Coe College. The contests will be held throughout the day in Peterson Hall of Science, Hickok Hall, Eby Fieldhouse, and on the Library Quad. At the end of the competition, an awards ceremony will be held at 4:30 p.m. in Eby Fieldhouse. The public is invited to all of the day's activities, which will feature competition in math, science and engineering.

Among the 23 events featured at this year’s Science Olympiad are meteorology, astronomy, robotics, physics, technical problem solving, chemistry, biology, ecology, forensics, GPS studies, engineering and forestry. Faculty members from Coe College, the University of Iowa and Mount Mercy University, along with employees from Rockwell Collins, John Deere, Schneider Electric and KGAN, will be offering their expertise as they judge various projects and events.

Founded in 1984, Science Olympiad is a national non-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of K-12 science education, increasing male, female and minority interest in science, creating a technologically literate workforce, and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by both students and teachers. The state director for the Iowa Science Olympiad is Susan Noreuil, science teaching associate at Coe.

The culmination of more than 240 regional and state tournaments is the Science Olympiad National Tournament, held at a different university each year. This year's national event will be held at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio, in May. At that time, the nation's most competitive Science Olympiad 15-member teams will compete in dozens of events spanning the sciences, from chemistry, biology and physics to engineering, robotics and astronomy.

For more information, call 399-8524.