Coe Hall of Fame adds four

Extra: Lonnie Zingula, Associate Director of Marketing and Public Relations
(319) 399-8613 or

2010-10-08 15:39:25 - General

Four former Kohawk athletes will be inducted into the Coe College Athletic Hall of Fame during Homecoming weekend, Oct. 13-17. The 2010 class of inductees includes Cedar Rapids residents Guy Simons ’94 and Todd Henecke ’96. Cedar Rapids native Marie Strilich Anderson ’88 of Swisher and Shelly Howe ’96 of Shakopee, Minn., will also be honored.

Simons, national accounts manager at CRST in Cedar Rapids, was a three-time all-conference and academic all-conference quarterback. The New Hartford native set seven school records while leading two conference championship teams to the NCAA Division III playoffs and posting Coe's first 10-0 record. He remains Coe’s career leader in touchdown passes with 56.

Henecke, who prepped at Cedar Rapids Prairie and is regional sales manager for Quintrex Data Systems, was a four-time all-conference honoree who held the school record in cross country until it was broken in 2007. Also a 13-time track champion, he still holds school records in the indoor 1,000-meter run, the outdoor distance medley relay and both indoor and outdoor 4 x 800-meter relay. As a team captain in both cross country and track, he was a dynamic leader who was named Midwest Conference Track and Field Athlete of the Year in 1993.

Anderson, a Cedar Rapids Washington product, was a five-time All-American and 12-time conference champion swimmer. In 1986, she helped the Kohawks to their second straight Midwest Conference championship and an 11th place finish at nationals. Three of her Coe relay team records remain unbroken and her name still appears in the top four rankings for three individual events. Anderson is a credit analyst at Van Meter Industrial.

A three-time all-conference player in both softball and basketball, Howe was the Bremner Outstanding Female Athlete at Coe in 1996. During her four seasons as catcher and outfielder for the Coe softball team, the Kohawks won three conference championships and earned two NCAA Division III tournament bids. A native of Prairie du Chien, Wis., Howe remains the career leader in scoring, 3-point shooting and field goals for Coe women’s basketball. She is a DEA agent for the Department of Justice.

The four inductees will be honored at the 38th Athletic Hall of Fame Reception and Dinner on Oct. 15. They will also be honored in the Homecoming Parade and before Coe’s football game with Wartburg College on Oct. 16.