Staker announces Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year beneficiaries

Extra: Rod Pritchard, Director of Marketing and Public Relations
(319) 399-8605 or

2010-05-04 10:15:41 - General

Coe Head Football Coach Steve Staker - previously named the 2009 Liberty Mutual National Coach of the Year for NCAA Division III - has announced the beneficiaries of the $50,000 received from Liberty Mutual to the charities of his choice. An additional $20,000 was automatically designated by the insurance company to benefit alumni programs at Coe.

The announcement was made as the 15 community organizations that Staker designated to benefit from the awards were honored prior to the Corridor Classic baseball game featuring the University of Iowa and Coe College. In addition, members of the Kohawk football team were present for the ceremony.

The awards are summarized as follows:

  • Cedar Rapids Community School District Foundation for Polk Elementary School - $1,000
  • Cedar Valley Friends of the Family - $1,000
  • Coe College Chapter of Fellowship of Christian Athletes - $1,000
  • Coe College Scholarship Fund - $20,000
  • Community Health Free Clinic of Cedar Rapids - $1,000
  • East Central Iowa Special Olympics - $1,000
  • East Central Iowa United Way - $1,000
  • Ed Thomas Family Foundation - $1,000
  • First United Methodist Church of Marion - $10,000
  • Fredericksburg Community School District - $3,000
  • Fredericksburg Fire Department and Fredericksburg Little League - $1,000
  • Juvenile Diabetes Camp Tanager - $1,000
  • North Tama High School Foundation - $2,000
  • St. Luke's Hospital Health Care Foundation - $1,000
  • United Methodist Church of Fredericksburg - $5,000

With these donations, Liberty Mutual has now contributed nearly $1 million to support local charities and alumni scholarship funds through its Coach of the Year program.

Coach Steve Staker and the Liberty Mutual National Coach of the Year award
In early January, Coe Head Football Coach Steve Staker was named the 2009 Liberty Mutual National Coach of the Year for NCAA Division III. As the winner of the award, Staker was able to designate $50,000 to the charities of his choice, with an additional $20,000 to benefit alumni programs at Coe.

The Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year program recognizes one coach in each of the four divisions of college football, celebrating coaches whose seasons were marked by the success and sportsmanship of their teams on the field, achievements by their student-athletes in the classroom, and their selfless support of charity and their communities. With an exceptional showing this fall, the Kohawk football team became only the third in school history to win 10 games, and was one of 16 teams nationally to advance to the second round of the NCAA Division III playoffs. At the end of the season, the team was ranked 10th nationally - the first Kohawk football team in school history to finish in the top 10.

In addition to the national award, second-year Head Coach Staker was named the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Region Five Coach of the Year and Iowa Conference Coach of the Year. Among other outstanding accomplishments by the team, quarterback Brad Boyle, class of 2012, was named the Iowa Conference Most Valuable Player.

Off the field, Coach Staker and his team are making a great impact in the community. He and his players volunteer for the Special Olympics in the off-season and at local elementary school events.