Academics > Faculty

Music Faculty

William S. Carson, Chair
Professor of Music
319.399.8520
wcarson@coe.edu

Director of Bands, clarinet, conducting, music history

Marc Falk
Pearl M. Taylor Associate Professor of Music
319.399.8629
mfalk@coe.edu

Concert Choir, Crimson and Gold, conducting

Steve Shanley
Assistant Professor of Music
319.399.8639
sshanley@coe.edu

Music education, jazz studies

Loralee Songer
Assistant Professor of Music
lsonger@coe.edu

Voice, vocal pedagogy, vocal literature, Chorale

Brett Wolgast
Velma J. MacMillan Assistant Professor of Music and College Organist
319.399.8657
bwolgast@coe.edu

Organ, piano, music theory, music fundamentals, music history

Zach Zubow
Adjunct Professor
319.399.8638
zzubow@coe.edu

Music theory, composition


Artist-Instructors

Robert Benson, B.A.; A.A.S.
Director of Music Recruiting, Musical Technical Director, Instructor
rbenson@coe.edu

Chris Bird, M.M.
Low Brass

Jan Boland, D.M.A.
Flute

Natalie Brown, M.M.Ed.
String Techniques

Gretchen Brumwell, M.M.
Harp
gretchenbrumwell@gmail.com

Chun-Ming (Jimmy) Chen, M.M.
Orchestra 
cchen@coe.edu

Earle W. Dickinson, M.A.
Music Education
edickinson@fmtcs.com

Sarah Fairfield, Ph.D.
Music Education
sfairfield@coe.edu

Rebecca Fields-Moffitt, M.A.
Music Education
rmoffitt@coe.edu

Lesley Fleer, M.M.
Oboe

John Hall, M.M.
String Bass
johall@coe.edu

Charles Andrew Harris, M.M.
French Horn
charris@coe.edu

Beth Hoffman, M.A.
Violin
bmhoffma@coe.edu

Allison Holmes-Bendixen
Voice

Michael Kimber, D.M.A. 
Viola
mkimber@centurylink.net

Alan Lawrence, M.M.
Percussion
alawrenc@coe.edu

Margie Vathauer Marrs
Alexander Technique
mmarrs@coe.edu

Greg Morton, D.M.A.
Saxophone/Bassoon
rmorton@coe.edu

Joel Nagel, M.M.
Trombone

Al Naylor, M.M.
Trumpet
anaylor@coe.edu

Lisa Neher
Voice

Tom Nothnagle, M.M.
Guitar
tnothnagle@coe.edu

Amy Phelps, D.M.A.
Cello & String Ensemble
aphelps@coe.edu

Joshua Reznicow, M.A.T.
Music Education
jreznicow@linnmar.k12.ia.us

Julia Titus, M.A.
Piano
jtitus@coe.edu

Marita Wolgast, M.M.
Piano
mwolgast@coe.edu


Faculty Emeriti

Dean Meredith Karns, M.A.
Professor of Mathematics and Music, Emeritus
deankarns@gmail.com

Allan D. Kellar, Ph.D.
Pearl M. Taylor Professor of Music, Emeritus
aandlkellar@comcast.net

Margie Vathauer Marrs
Pearl M. Taylor Professor of Music, Emeritus
mmarrs@coe.edu

Jerry Michael Owen, Ph.D.
Alma A. Turechek Professor of Music, Emeritus
jowen@coe.edu

Sharon Kay Stang
Velma J. MacMillan Professor of Piano, Emeritus
sstang@coe.edu


Music Department Staff

Rich Adkins
Music Librarian
radkins@coe.edu

Karen Wilson
Administrative Assistant
kwilson@coe.edu